Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

More on Fog

  1. Advection Fog
  2. Mixing Fog
  3. Radiation Fog
    Written by: WONG Wai-kin and NG Shuk-kiu       March 2011


    In "Fog Explained", the formation of fog is described.  Here we shall further illustrate the mechanism using commonly observed fog in Hong Kong as examples

    1. Advection Fog

    When cold surge or northerly cold air gradually weakens, the approaching airstream which has traversed the ocean to the east or southeast of Hong Kong is relatively warm and humid.  When it moves over the underlying cooler water or land surface along the coast of Guangdong, the air temperature near the surface will gradually drop, resulting in condensation of water vapour into small water droplets with diameters of about a ten-thousandth of a centimeter.  They are carried (or advected, in meteorological jargon) by the east to southeasterly wind towards Hong Kong (Fig.1) and the coastal areas of Guangdong as a layer of fog (hence called advection fog) which is also commonly known as "sea fog".


    1
    Fig.1   Foggy weather affected the Victoria Harbour on 23 March 2009. 
    (Photographed by the weather observer at the Observatory)

    content Back to content

    2. Mixing Fog

    In spring, Hong Kong may be affected by airstreams from different origins at the same time (Fig.2). These airstreams are nearly saturated but with slightly different temperatures.  If the winds are not strong, these competing airstreams will mix at the interface, forming water droplets by condensation and resulting in another common kind of fog called mixing fog.   

    A typical case can be seen on 16 February 2011. That morning, a humid easterly airstream brought some mists and light rain to Hong Kong.  The visibility was about 2000-5000 m. Around noon, a weak northerly airstream started to affect the western part of territory (Fig.3). With the penetration of the cooler northerlies, the temperature dropped immediately (Fig.4).  Since the air became saturated and the water vapour condensed due to mixing of air coming from the north and the east, mixing fog formed. The fog caused rapid drop in visibility over the waters in western part of Hong Kong and near the Hong Kong International Airport to about 1000 m within a couple of hours (Fig.5). However, the eastern territory of Hong Kong was only slightly affected. 


    2
    Fig.2   Weather chart at 08 HKT on 16 February 2011.

    3
    Fig.3   Mean wind in the 10 minutes ending at 12:30 HKT on 16 Feb 2011.

    4
    Fig.4   Time series of air temperature, relative humidity, dew-point temperature and winds at Chek Lap Kok on 16 Feb 2011

    5
    Fig.5   Time series of visibility at Chek Lap Kok and Central on 16 Feb 2011

    content Back to content

    3. Radiation Fog

    In valleys and low-lying regions, during nighttime of winter and spring with cloudless sky and calm wind, the layer of air adjacent to the surface is cooled as the temperature of Earth surface drops more rapidly due to radiation cooling effect.  The air near the Earth surface becomes cooler than the air immediately above it, causing the atmosphere to become more stable.  If the air is sufficiently moist and cools to its dew point, condensation occurs and radiation fog forms (Fig.6).  Before dawn, the surface temperature reaches its minimum and results in thick radiation fog.  Upon sunrise, the Earth surface is gradually heated up, and the fog will begin to evaporate.  As the temperature continues to rise, the atmosphere will become less stable and radiation fog dissipates.


    6
    Fig.6   Radiation fog occurred in a morning at Sheung Shui. 
    (By courtesy of the Mr. Chow Kam-ming, Vice Principal of the Elegantia College in Sheung Shui)

    content Back to content
Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

再談霧

  1. 「平流霧」
  2. 「混合霧」
  3. 「輻射霧」
    撰文:黃偉健、吳淑嬌     2011年3月

    《霧之解》裡已簡略地介紹霧這個天氣現象,這裡以一些香港常見的霧作例子,再加以闡釋。

    1. 「平流霧」

    當寒潮或北方的冷空氣逐漸減弱,從東至東南方海洋吹來的氣流因較為和暖潮濕,遇上廣東沿岸較冷的海面或陸地時,近表面的空氣溫度便逐漸下降,當達至近乎飽和情況,潮濕的空氣凝結為直徑只有約萬分之一厘米的水珠,隨東至東南風移向香港及廣東沿岸地區﹙圖1﹚,形成常稱為「海霧」的「平流霧」。

    1 
    圖1    2009年3月23日影響維多利亞港的霧。(由天文台天氣觀測員拍攝)

    content回到內容

    2. 「混合霧」

    在春季,香港有時也許會同時受到來自不同方向的氣流影響﹙圖2﹚,這些氣流的溫度略有不同,但空氣中的水份皆接近飽和。若風力不太強,不同方向的氣流互相爭持,潮濕空氣在交界區域混合和產生凝結, 形成另外一種常見的「混合霧」。

    舉2011年2月16日為例,當日早上,潮濕的偏東風為香港帶來薄霧和微雨, 普遍能見度維持在2000 - 5000米。在中午,一股微弱的北風開始從珠江口影響香港西部﹙圖3﹚;當較涼的北風滲入後,氣溫突然下降﹙圖4﹚,與東風氣流混合,使大氣水份飽和凝結,形成混合霧;令香港西部水域以及香港國際機場的能見度在短短一兩小時內大幅下降至一千米左右﹙圖5﹚;但對香港東部只有輕微的影響。

    2 
    圖2    2011年2月16日08時的天氣圖。

    3
    圖3    2011年2月16日12時30分十分鐘平均風向及風速。

    4 
    圖4    2011年2月16日赤鱲角氣溫、相對濕度、露點和風的時間序列。

    5 
    圖5    2011年2月16日赤鱲角及中環能見度的時間序列。

    content回到內容

    3. 「輻射霧」

    在一些內陸地區,山谷和低窪地方﹙圖6﹚,在冬天和春天晴朗無雲的夜晚,當風勢微弱,由於輻射冷卻作用,地面迅速散熱,近地面的降溫較快,形成空氣溫度隨高度增加而遞增,使大氣變得穩定,水汽充分時,若近地面空氣冷卻至接近露點而凝結成小水滴,便會形成「輻射霧」。日出之前,由於地面溫度達到最低,輻射霧也最為濃厚,日出後,地面溫度逐漸回升,接近地面的霧開始蒸發。當升溫持續,天氣的穩定度亦會減小,霧便會開始消散。

    6 
    圖6    位於上水早上的「輻射霧」。
    (鳴謝上水風采中學周鑑明副校長提供照片)

    content回到內容

       
最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>