Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Use of Fog - a source of water supply


    Written by: OR Ming-keung, Ben       March 2011


    In general, fog brings us inconvenience to our daily life. However, have you ever thought of using fog as an alternative water source? In fact, in some arid but foggy places, fog could serve as an efficient water supply.

    Antofagasta is located in the Atacama Desert which is situated at the northern part of the capital of Chile, San Diego. Although the Atacama Desert is located near the coast (Fig.1), the coastal waters are under the influence of the South Pacific subtropical ridge with prevailing dry descending offshore winds. When the cold Peruvian (Humboldt) Current (a cold ocean current) crosses the coastal waters, only low level clouds or fog but not rain will form because of the subsidence. Besides, the Andes mountains block the moist air from the Atlantic Ocean, making the desert renowned for being extremely dry. It is known that the annual average rainfall is just around 1mm1. Twenty years ago, in a village called Caleta Chungungo neighbouring Antofagasta, villagers were celebrating for having a new source of water supply. The celebration caught media attention around the world. The water supply did not come from water pipes of neighboring cities, but from a network of fog fence (or fog collector) mounted on Chile El Tofo mountain. The network could provide a daily average of 15,000 litre of water2.

    1
    Fig 1.  Atacama Desert (areas in yellow) situated near the coast
    (Image source: Wikimedia Commons)

    There is around 0.05 mg of water in 1m3 fog. The diameter of water droplet in fog is in general around 1 to 40 µm (1 mm = 1,000 µm) , much smaller than that in rain (500 to 5,000 µm). Owing to its tiny dimension, the water droplets in fog blow with the winds. The fog fence collects water by making use of this feature. The design of fog fence is basically a double-layer fine plastic mesh, standing vertically among the fog with the mesh facing the prevailing winds. When fog moves across a fog fence, water droplets in the fog would deposit on the mesh and the double-layer structure would cause the droplets to coalesce, and run through the collecting pipe located at the bottom of the fence. Fog fence is considered to be simple, energy saving and cheap; so many developing countries actively investigate the feasibility of using fog fence to provide water. However, the effectiveness of using fog fence would depend on local geography and climate; besides, water could be contaminated by dust or bacteria in the course of water collection. All these bring challenges to the use of fog fence as an alternative water source.



    References:

    1. "Atacama Desert", Wikipedia.
    2. "Collecting Fog on El Tofo", by Stephen Dale, International Development Research Centre (IDRC).


    content Back to content
Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

霧的用途:一個食水來源

        撰文:柯銘強     2011年3月

      霧通常為我們日常生活帶來不便。但有沒有想過霧可以作為另類供水的來源呢?其實,在一些整年很少雨水但有霧的地方,霧可以成為一個有效的食水來源。

      智利首都聖地亞哥北面的安托法加斯塔﹙Antofagasta﹚位於阿他加馬沙漠﹙Atacama Desert﹚。沙漠雖然位於海傍﹙圖1﹚,但水域受到南太平洋副熱帶高壓脊影響,盛行下沉乾燥的離岸風‧當秘魯寒流﹙一個寒冷的洋流﹚經過時,下層水汽只能凝結成雲或霧,但難以成雨。同時,沙漠東面的安第斯山脈阻擋了來自大西洋的濕潤水汽,令該沙漠因特別乾燥而聞名。據說,沙漠年均降水量僅約1毫米1。二十多年前,鄰近於安托法加斯塔的一個村落Caleta Chungungo,村民為獲得新水源而歡呼,同時亦吸引國際關注。這新水源不是由鄰近城市的輸水管帶來,而是由智利El Tofo 山上的一組捕霧網﹙fog fence or collector﹚所供應,而這組捕霧網能提供平均每日15,000升的水量2

      1
      圖1  位於海傍的阿他加馬沙漠﹙黃色地區﹚
      ﹙圖像來源︰Wikimedia Commons


      1立方米的霧裡約有0.05毫克的水,而霧中水滴的直徑一般為1至40微米﹙1毫米為1,000微米﹚,比一般雨中的水滴﹙500至5,000微米﹚為小。因為比較細小,所以霧中水滴能隨風飄揚。而收集霧水的捕霧網正是針對這特徵而設計的。捕霧網一般為兩層多孔塑膠網,垂直豎立在多霧地方,網面迎向當時的盛行風。當霧穿過捕霧網時,霧中的水滴便會粘在網線上,兩層塑膠網可加速網線上的水滴聚集成水珠,從而流向安裝於捕霧網下面的管道進行收集。由是觀之,捕霧網的設計簡單,收集水的過程亦不需要額外能源,成本便宜,所以很多發展中國家都積極研究利用捕霧網提供水源的可行性。但捕霧網能否提供有效的水源,取決於當地的地理和氣候,而且收集的過程中也可能受空氣中的塵埃和細菌污染。這些也為利用捕霧網作為水源帶來挑戰。


        參考:

      1. "Atacama Desert", Wikipedia.
      2. "Collecting Fog on El Tofo", by Stephen Dale, International Development Research Centre (IDRC).


      content回到內容

         
    最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>