Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

The Wind Chill Effect


    Written by: CHAN Sai-tick       March 2011


Your body always works hard to try to maintain a body temperature close to 37oC.  However, air movement will carry heat away from your body so that you will feel colder in a windy day than what the thermometer measures.  This effect, termed "wind chill", will be more significant with increasing wind speed.

In some countries like U.S. and Canada, something called the "wind chill temperature" is reported along with the actual temperature measured.  It was created based on scientific research involving human volunteers and computer modeling, as well as medical understanding of how the body loses heat when exposed to cold.  The table below shows the wind chill temperatures for various air temperatures and wind speeds based on the formula used in both U.S. and Canada.  For example, if the air temperature is 4oC and the wind is blowing at 30 km/h, your face will feel as cold as -1oC in a calm day without any wind.   


1
 

One point to note, however, is that the wind chill temperature does not apply to inanimate objects.  An inanimate object will not cool below the actual air temperature in wind.  For example, no matter how hard the wind blows, a pile of water on the ground will never freeze if the air temperature is kept above the freezing point.


    References:

  1. "Canada's Wind Chill Index", Environment Canada
  2. Wikipedia
  3. "Windchill Terms and Definitions", NOAA's National Weather Service


Back to content

 

Last revision date: <20 Feb 2014>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

風寒效應


   撰文:陳世倜      2011年3月

你的身體時刻努力運作以維持體溫接近攝氏37度。可是,空氣的流動卻會將你身體的熱量帶走,令你在大風的日子裡感覺到的氣溫比溫度計量度得的還要低。這稱之為「風寒效應」。該效應會隨著風速的增加而加劇。

在一些國家如美國及加拿大,一項稱為「風寒溫度」的東西會與實際量度得的氣溫一同發布。該溫度乃根據一些科學研究結果,當中牽涉自願實驗人員、電腦模式並結合在醫學上有關人體在冷凍的環境下熱量喪失的知識所製作出來的。下表顯示在不同的氣溫及風速下根據在美國及加拿大通用的公式計算出的風寒溫度為多少。例如,當氣溫為攝氏4度,風速為每小時30公里時,你面上感覺到的溫度相等於在無風的日子時的攝氏零下1度。

1

有一點值得留意的是,「風寒溫度」不適用於死物上。在風力影響下,一件死物的溫度並不會下降至低於實際的氣溫。舉例來說,如果氣溫高於冰點,無論風吹得多大,地上的積水都永不會冷卻成冰的。


    參考:

  1. "Canada’s Wind Chill Index", 加拿大環境部。
  2. 維基百科
  3. "Windchill Terms and Definitions", 美國國家海洋和大氣管理局國家環境預測中心。


回到內容

   

 

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>