Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Coffee or tea - the science explained

  1. Why does a coffee (or tea) drop leave a brown ring on the table?

     

     

  2. Is the phenomenon related to surface tension?

     

     

  3. Why does a tea bag inflate in hot water?

     

   Written by: LEE Boon-ying


  1. Why does a coffee (or tea) drop leave a brown ring on the table?

    A cup of coffee (or tea) has microscopic brown particles inside it. A coffee drop is no different.

    When a coffee drop lands on a table, it spreads out in all directions. The spreading will stops when the liquid reaches a barrier, which may be a small and invisible scratch or ditch on the table surface.

    Looking from the side, the puddle will be thick at the centre but thin at the edges. As evaporation occurs, it will dry first at the edges because there is less liquid there. That might cause the puddle to shrink and pull back at the edges, but this is not possible because of surface friction, i.e. the puddle edges are stuck. Thus more liquid has to come in from the centre. This carries with it more brown particles, which end up stranded at the edges as evaporation continues until all liquid is gone.

    Figure

     

    contentBack to content

  2. Is the phenomenon related to surface tension?

    The above phenomenon has been explained after detailed mathematical calculations were made by scientists. They found evaporation to be the reason. It thus seems that surface tension has no direct role, and only plays an indirect part in so far as evaporation occurs faster at places where the curvature of liquid surface is larger. At these places, evaporation is faster because a water molecule there has fewer neighbouring molecules to pull it back by attraction, as opposed to, say, a flat surface where the surface attraction is greater because of more molecules in the neighbourhood.

    Figure

     

    Brown ring is also observed on a table cloth. This can be explained by the process of evaporation, and not surface tension.

    contentBack to content

  3. Why does a tea bag inflate in hot water?

    The primary reason is expansion of the air inside the tea bag. Recall the gas law in high-school textbooks, which say that the volume increases with the absolute temperature, i.e. the air temperature in Celsius plus 273 degrees. Thus, as temperature increases from room temperature (say 25 degrees Celsius, or 298 degrees in absolute temperature) to the boiling point of water (100 degrees Celsius, or 373 degrees), the volume of the air inside the bag will expand by 373/298, or 1.25, i.e. a 25 percent increase.

    As the tea bag holds some water in its fabric, this effectively seals the air inside the bag and results in an inflated bag when the temperature rises.

    Figure

     

    If the water is boiling, a further effect is that the tea leaves inside the bag serve as very good 'nucleation sites' for bubbles of steam to form. If you watch water boiling in a glass container, you may notice that steam bubbles only form at fixed spots on the wall of the container where there are small cracks or crevices. These also are nucleation sites. Please check out:
    http://www.weather.gov.hk/education/edu06nature/ele_bubble_e.htm
    for a similar effect in soft drinks.

    Thus, in boiling water, the tea bag inflates mainly because of: i) air expansion, and ii) addition of steam inside the bag.

    contentBack to content

Reference:

  1. "What Einstein told his barber" by R.L. Wolfe, p.186, Dell Publishing, 2000.
  2. "The Last Word", New Scientist, 15 Dec 2007.

 

Last revision date: <19 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

「咖啡或茶」的科學

  1. 為什麼一滴咖啡(或茶)會在桌上留下棕色的環?

     

     

  2. 這現象是否與表面張力有關?

     

     

  3. 為什麼茶包在熱水中會脹大?

     

   撰文:李本瀅


  1. 為什麼一滴咖啡(或茶)會在桌上留下棕色的環?

    一杯咖啡(或茶)裏有很微小的棕色物質。一滴咖啡也是一樣。

    咖啡滴落在桌上,會向不同方向散開。當遇上障礙物,如桌面上的微小和看不見的刮痕或溝時,液體便會停止擴散。

    從側面看,水滴的中央最厚而邊緣最薄。當蒸發時,由於邊緣的液體最少,它會最先變乾。這會使水滴體積收縮,可是因為有表面摩擦力,水滴邊緣會被桌面黏住,水滴的覆蓋面並沒有因蒸發而減少。所以有更多液體會從中央移向邊緣,帶來更多棕色物質。由於蒸發持續,更多棕色物質滯留在邊緣,直至所有液體消失,最後形成一個棕色的環。

    圖

     

    回到目錄回到目錄

  2. 這現象是否與表面張力有關?

    以上解釋是經科學家詳細的數學計算得來的。他們發現其原因是蒸發作用。可見表面張力並非原因,而其間接作用只是出現於液體表面弧度較大的地方。這些地方蒸發較快,原因是水分子周圍由於分子數目較少而引力較小。反過來說,平坦的表面由於周圍的分子較多,表面引力較大。

    圖

     

    棕色的環同樣出現在桌布上。這亦可用蒸發過程(而非表面張力)來解釋。

    回到目錄回到目錄

  3. 為什麼茶包在熱水中會脹大?

    最主要的原因是茶包裏的空氣膨脹。回想中學教科書裏的氣體定律︰體積會隨絕對溫度(即攝氏溫度加273度)上升。所以當溫度從室溫(如攝氏25度或絕對溫度298度)上升至水沸點(攝氏100度或絕對溫度373度),茶包裏的空氣體積便會膨脹373/298倍,即約1.25倍,亦即是增加百分之二十五。

    由於茶包的纖維會鎖住一些水分,有效地把空氣密封在茶包裏,導致溫度上升時茶包脹大。

    圖

     

    當水煮沸時,另外的作用是茶包裏的茶葉會成為很好的「成核位置」,方便蒸汽的氣泡形成。如果你觀察水在玻璃容器中煮沸的情況,可以留意到蒸汽泡只從玻璃容器壁的一些特定位置如細小的裂縫或破口釋放出來。這些便是成核位置。汽水亦有類似效果,請參閱﹕http://www.weather.gov.hk/education/edu06nature/ele_bubble_c.htm

    所以在沸水中,茶包脹大主要原因有二︰一是空氣膨脹、二是茶包裏多了蒸汽。

    回到目錄回到目錄

參考:

  1. "What Einstein told his barber" by R.L. Wolfe, p.186, Dell Publishing, 2000.
  2. "The Last Word", New Scientist, 15 Dec 2007.

 

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>