Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

  1. Is there any connection between earthquakes and the Earth's climate?
  2. What is plate tectonics?
  3. What is a subduction?
  4. Are earthquakes connected with local volcanoes?
    Written by: LEE Boon-ying

  1. Is there any connection between earthquakes and the Earth's climate?

    The Earth's climate is related to earthquakes, carbon dioxide and the oceans.

    The cycle begins with volcanoes releasing carbon dioxide into the air.  As we all know, carbon dioxide as a major greenhouse gas keeps the Earth warm (otherwise, the Earths temperature will drop from an average of about 15 degrees Celsius to a staggering -18 degrees Celsius!).  This warmth encourages evaporation from seawater, which in turns produces clouds and rain.  The rain is slightly acidic because it contains dissolved carbon dioxide.  The acidity causes rock erosion on the Earths surface and rain washes the dissolved minerals into rivers and the sea.  Carbon is in general present in the minerals as these could once be living organisms over the aeons.  Once onto the sea, the minerals eventually end up as sediments, and then as rocks, on the bottom of the sea.  The very slow action of plate tectonics renders these rocks subducted into the Earth mantle, where the carbon dioxide is released because of the immense heat from the Earths interior.  The carbon dioxide later returns to the atmosphere through the volcanoes.  This completes the cycle.

    figure1
    Figure 1

    The moon plays a part in reducing the wobble of the Earth axis, as even small wobbles causing the Earth axis to tilt wildly can easily bring ice ages.

    Together, the above two factors have rendered the Earth's climate reasonably stable for the past 4 billion years, making it habitable by organisms (and later on, by animals including dinosaurs, and still later, by human beings).

    The increase in the burning of fossil fuels since the start of industrial age 200 years ago, especially over the past 30 years, has resulted in a significant increase of carbon dioxide in the air and started the global warming we are now facing.  This has disrupted the normal cycle. Scientists figure that the atmospheric carbon dioxide and the changed climate are here to stay for many, many years, long after human beings are gone.

     content Back to content

  2. What is plate tectonics?

    Our knowledge about earthquakes took a big leap when a world-wide seismological network was set up in the early 1960's.  When an earthquake occurs, it sends off vibrations (or waves) in all directions.   An earthquake wave arrives at the seismological stations at different times.  The time differences enable the earthquake to be located.

    Thus, it becomes possible to draw up an earthquake map similar to Figure 2 below.  It can be seen from the figure that the earthquake locations more or less mark the boundaries of huge plates.  The Earth's crust is made up of a dozen or more masses called tectonic plates.  Some of these plates are almost stationary, while others may be moving several centimetres a year.  Most of the world's earthquakes occur at the boundaries of these plates where they rub, grind, or move under or over each other.

    figure2
    Figure 2 - World Seismicity Map 1964-2008 by International Seismological Centre (ISC) (adopted from "International Seismological Centre (ISC): Current Status & Plans" by Dmitry Storchak, István Bondár, James Harris & Oriol Gaspa)

     content Back to content

  3. What is a subduction?

    A subduction is an area where two tectonic plates rub, grind, and move under or over each other.  The typical rate of movement is measured in centimeters per year.  This stores up a large amount of energy.  The energy is released when the limit is exceeded, and a rupture occurs.  Figure 3 shows the mechanism of a submarine earthquake, and also explains the occurrence of tsunami.  

    figure2
    Figure 3

    An oceanic plate is more dense than a continental plate.  For this reason, an oceanic plate ordinarily slides underneath a continental plate.

     content Back to content

  4. Are earthquakes connected with local volcanoes?

    The subduction described above sometimes creates a volcanic arc.  As an example, the Pacific Rim is characterized by active volcanoes and earthquakes.  Volcanic arcs are present in places such as Japan, the Philippines, the Aleutian Islands, and the western coasts of the Americas.  The subduction mechanism (see Figure 3) helps to explain why volcanoes are often displaced from earthquake locations.

    Note that earthquakes are not always connected with local volcanoes.  There are many places in the world where earthquakes are not associated with volcanoes.  In other words, a subduction does not necessarily give rise to volcanoes.

     content Back to content

   Reference:

  1. New Scientist, Sep 2008, p.34.

Last revision date: <20 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

  1. 地震和氣候之間有關連嗎?
  2. 板塊構造學是什麼?
  3. 什麼是地殼潛沒?
  4. 地震與當地火山活動有關連嗎?
    撰文:李本瀅

  1. 地震和氣候之間有關連嗎?

    地球的氣候與地震,二氧化碳和海洋有關。

    循環由火山釋放二氧化碳,進入大氣開始。我們知道,二氧化碳是主要的溫室氣體,保持地球溫暖﹙若不這樣,地球的溫度將從平均約攝氏 15度下降到驚人的零下18度!﹚。熱力助長海水蒸發,產生雲和雨。雨水由於含有溶解的二氧化碳畧帶酸性。雨水的酸度腐蝕地球表面岩石,溶解了的礦物質從而流進江河和海洋。礦物質一般含有碳,而這些碳可能曾經是源遠流長的遠古生物。一旦流進海裡,礦物質最終在海底成為沈澱物,繼而成為岩石。地表板塊結構的緩慢移動,使這些岩石潛沒逐漸進入地球的地幔。在那裡,地球內部巨大的熱力令二氧化碳釋放出來,經火山活動返回大氣,完成整個循環。


    figure1
    圖 1.

    另一方面,月亮透過地心引力,扮演減輕地球轉軸搖晃的角色。因為甚小的搖晃也會引起地球轉軸大幅度傾斜,帶來冰河時期。  

    在過去40億年中,上述兩個因素令地球的氣候維持相當穩定,使生物欣欣向榮﹙之後,出現恐龍,再很長時間之後出現人類﹚。

    自從200 多年前的工業時代開始,耗用礦物燃料增加,特別是在過去30年中,令大氣中的二氧化碳顯著增加,啟動了我們現正面對的全球變暖,擾亂了正常的循環。科學家估計大氣二氧化碳以及已轉變的氣候會熒繞很多很多年,人類在地球上消失後,仍會維持一段長時間。


     回到目錄 回到目錄

  2. 板塊構造學是什麼?

    20世紀60年代初,一個遍及全球的地震監測網建成,我們關於地震的知識突飛猛進。一場地震發生時,它向四面八方發送出振動﹙或震波﹚。由於地震波到達各地震監測站的時間不同,利用時間的差異,我們便能夠將地震震中定位。

    由是,出現了一張類似下面圖2的地震區域圖。圖中可見地震位置或多或少標誌了巨大板塊的邊沿。因此我們知道地球的地殼由十多個地殼板塊組成。一些板塊幾乎停滯不動,另一些板塊每年可能移動幾厘米。板塊與板塊之間互相磨擦,擠壓,或者在彼此的下面或上面移動,產生了地球上大多數的地震。


    figure2
    圖 2.  國際地震中心﹙ISC﹚編製的世界地震區域圖 1964-2008
    ﹙取自 Dmitry Storchak, István Bondár, James Harris & Oriol Gaspa 的“International Seismological Centre (ISC): Current Status & Plans”﹚

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  3. 什麼是地殼潛沒?

    地殼潛沒是指兩個地殼板塊磨擦,擠壓,並且在彼此的下面或上面移動。測量到的移動速度一般為每年幾厘米,結果是聚積了大量能量。當極限超越時,板塊破裂,巨大能量溢出。圖3顯示海底地震的機制,並且解釋海嘯如何發生。  

    figure2
    圖 3.

    海洋板塊密度比大陸板塊大。因此,海洋板塊通常在大陸板塊下面滑動。


     回到目錄 回到目錄

  4. 地震與當地火山活動有關連嗎?

    如上所述,地殼潛沒有時造成火山弧。環太平洋地區以活火山和地震為特色,是一個例子。有火山弧的地方包括日本,菲律賓,阿留申群島和美國的西海岸。潛沒機制﹙參閱圖3﹚幫助解釋為什麼火山與地震位置之間經常有一段距離。 

    須注意,地震不是經常與當地火山有關連。世界上很多地方出現的地震是與火山無關的。換句話說,地殼潛沒不一定產生火山。 


     回到目錄 回到目錄

   參考:

  1. New Scientist, Sep 2008, p.34.

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>