Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

  1. How deep is the Earth?
  2. What is at the Earths centre?
    Written by: LEE Boon-ying

  1. How deep is the Earth?

    The Earths diameter was estimated, with reasonable accuracy, as early as 240 BC by a Greek named Eratosthenes. He based his calculation on the Suns shadows at two different places.  Nowadays we know that the Earths diameter is about 12,740 km (radius 6,370 km). 

    We also know that the Earth consists of half a dozen relatively distinct layers, as illustrated in Figure 1. 

    figure1
    Figure 1

    How do we know about this?  Even today, only the topmost, thin outer skin of the Earths rocks can be sampled directly at the surface and in mines or bore holes.  The deepest of these holes extend downward to only 10 km or thereabouts.  As a matter of fact, we know about the Earths interior through indirect evidence, mostly from earthquake waves.  

     content Back to content

  2. What is at the Earths centre?

    Ever since the British physicist Cavendish weighed the Earth in 1799, it has been known that its average density is about 5.5 times that of water.  However, rocks on the Earths surface are much lighter, with a very much lower density, e.g. about 2.7 times for granite.  It is therefore clear that some parts of the Earths interior must have a very high density indeed if the average is to have the observed value.

    We now know that the Earth has a core that starts about half way down, at 2,890 km from the surface.  The core has two layers: an outer core and an inner core:

    a)    The outer core molten iron; and

    b)    The inner core solid; about the size of the Moon; made up of iron and a little nickel.  (Questions for the reader: Why is there no nickel in the outer core?  Why is the inner core crystallized?)

    In the outer core, the convection of molten iron generates a magnetic field.  This geomagnetism helps us know the direction on a compass.  It also protects us from dangerous particles from the Sun, known as solar wind.  

     content Back to content


Last revision date: <20 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

  1. 地球有多深?
  2. 地球中心有什麼?
    撰文:李本瀅

  1. 地球有多深?

    早在西元前240年,一個希臘人名艾拉托色尼,根據兩個不同地方太陽的影子,準確地估算了地球的直徑。現在我們知道地球的直徑大約是12,740公里﹙半徑6,370公里﹚。  

    我們也知道地球可分成約六層,如圖 1  所顯示那樣。

    figure1
    圖 1

    我們又怎樣知道這些呢?即使今天,我們亦只能在地球外殼的最上層,在地面和在礦井或者鑽探地洞直接取樣,未能一窺全貌。這些探洞向下伸延最深大約只有 10 公里。其實,地球的內部情況,我們主要從地震波間接導出。  


     回到目錄 回到目錄


  2. 地球中心有什麼?

    自從英國物理學家卡文迪什在1799年「為地球秤重」後,我們已經知道地球的平均密度大約是水的5.5倍。然而地球表面上的岩石輕得多,密度低很多,例如花崗岩密度僅是水的2.7倍。因此可以確信,若要平均密度符合觀測值,地球內部某些部分的密度必定很高。

    我們現在知道,地球有一個核心,離地面2,890公里﹙約半路中途﹚開始。核心有兩層,外地核和內地核︰

    a) 外地核是熔化了的鐵; 而
    b) 內地核是固體,有如月球般大小,由鐵和小量鎳組成。﹙給讀者的問題︰外地核為何沒有鎳?內地核為何形成結晶體?﹚

    在外地核,鐵熔漿的對流活動產生一個磁場。這個磁場就是我們所說的地磁,在指南針給我們指示方向。此外,它擋住從太陽來的危險粒子﹙即太陽風﹚,保護我們免受這些輻射。


     回到目錄 回到目錄


最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>