Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

  1. What is "Ozone"? What is "Ozone layer"?
  2. How does Ozone protect us? How can we protect the Ozone layer?
  3. Ozone is harmful or beneficial to human body?
  4. How to measure Ozone in atmosphere?
  5. What are the Ozone conditions in Hong Kong?
    Written by: FUNG Kwok-chu

  1. What is "Ozone"? What is "Ozone layer"?

    Oxygen is a chemical element (symbol O) ranking number 8 in the periodic table and has an atomic mass of 16.  When two oxygen atoms combine they form oxygen gas (symbol O2), which makes up one fifth of the volume of air and is the most essential element for life.  Ozone (symbol O3) is formed from three oxygen atoms and is a product of ultraviolet rays acting on oxygen in the air.  As ozone is very unstable, the extra oxygen atom is easily lost causing ozone to turn into the more stable oxygen gas.  On the other hands, rays of ultraviolet light in sunlight makes new ozone molecules and a certain concentration of ozone is maintained in the atmosphere and settles in a layer between 20 and 30 kilometers from the ground known as the "Ozone layer"

    O + O2 O3 (Ozone)

     

    figure1
    Figure 1.  Ozone layer at atmosphere keeps out the penetration
    of ultraviolet rays for protecting the living environment in the earth. [Courtesy of FUNG Kwok-chu]


     content Back to content

  2. How does Ozone protect us? How can we protect the Ozone layer?

    Ultraviolet rays can damage our skin and increase the risk of skin cancer.  It also affects our immune system and damages our eyes, leading to cataracts or even the loss of sight.  The ozone layer provides a shield (see figure 1) by keeping out over 90 percent of ultraviolet rays thus keeping us out of harm's way.

    Studies indicate CFCs destroy ozone.  One molecule of CFC can destroy about a hundred thousand ozone molecules and reduce the ozone in the atmosphere leading to the occurrence of ozone holes at both the north and south poles. It would allow more ultraviolet light to reach the ground and affect the Earth's ecology. Therefore, we must at all cost reduce the use of sprays solution, refrigerant, air-conditioners and other products which contain CFCs. Furthermore, if we use such products, we have to arrange their periodic inspection and service to avoid accidental release of the CFCs.

     content Back to content

  3. Ozone is harmful or beneficial to human body?

    Ozone is a colourless gas but has a pale blue colour and a slight odour of freshly cut grass at higher concentrations.  At first breath, ozone gives a feeling of freshness but it can become uncomfortable when a large amount is inhaled.  Although ozone has purifying, sterilizing and deodorizing power, it is hazardous to our eyes and lungs, even seriously damaging the lungs if ozone is inhaled excessively and causing death.  Because of industrial and vehicular emissions, the air in urban areas is often polluted.  A high concentration of ozone is formed under sunlight by photochemical effect at the lower atmosphere.  This is "bad" ozone. However, ozone at high altitudes protects all living things on Earth by absorbing ultraviolet rays from the sun.  In addition, a thin layer of ozone brought down from aloft after a thunderstorm is refreshing.  This is known as "good" ozone.


     content Back to content

  4. How to measure Ozone in atmosphere?

    The Hong Kong Observatory has been measuring ozone concentrations in the upper atmosphere since 1993.  A meteorological balloon with an ozone sensor kit (see Figure 2) is launched every week.  The balloon can rise to above 30 kilometers with the ozone sensor measuring the ozone concentration continuously as it rises through the atmosphere.  The ozone sensor kit contains a measuring solution and a pump to pass air through the solution (see figure 3).  This process enables the determination of the ozone concentration.  The Hong Kong Observatory regularly disseminates the ozone concentration data to the World Ozone Data Centre for monitoring and analysis.

    figure2
    Figure 2.  Launching of upper-air sounding with a ozone sensor kit

    figure2
    Figure 3.  Preparation of the solution for measuring ozone


     content Back to content

  5. What are the Ozone conditions in Hong Kong?

    Figure 4 illustrates the ozone data (green curve) over Hong Kong on July 2008.  It can be seen that the ozone concentration significantly increases above the level of 100 hPa (about 16 kilometers high) in the atmosphere.  The maximum ozone concentration occurs between 20 and 30 kilometers high (area between the two white lines shown in figure 4), which is known as the ozone layer.

    Although the ozone layer over Hong Kong protects us by absorbing the ultraviolet rays, it does not mean that it will not change in the future.  Thus, we have to treasure our environment and preserve the nature, to protect ourselves and our next generation.


    figure2
    Figure 4.  Ozone data (green curve) over Hong Kong, July 2008. The maximum ozone concentration occurs between 20 and 30 kilometers as area between two white lines.
    Remarks: Temperature (red curve), dew point (dark blue) and relative humidity (pale blue)


     content Back to content

   References:

  1. Environmental Protection Department webpage
  2. Hong Kong Observatory webpage
  3. www.vaisala.com
  4. We Are the Weather Makers, by Tim Flannery

Last revision date: <20 Feb 2014>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

  1. 什麼是『臭氧』?什麼是『臭氧層』?
  2. 臭氧層如何保護我們?我們如何保護臭氧層?
  3. 臭氧對人體有害,還是有益?
  4. 如何量度高空臭氧含量?
  5. 現時本港上空的臭氧情況如何?
    撰文:馮國柱

  1. 什麼是『臭氧』?什麼是『臭氧層』?

    『氧』元素﹙符號 O﹚在化學週期表內排行第8,其原子質量為16。由2粒氧原子結合而成的『氧氣』﹙符號 O2﹚份子約佔地球大氣五分之一,是人類維持生命的主要元素。『臭氧』﹙符號 O3﹚則由3粒氧原子組成,是紫外線將第 3粒氧原子逼入氧氣份子而形成的。臭氧在大氣中是較為不穩定的,會不斷失去多出的氧原子,而變回較穩定的氧氣份子。另一方面,太陽光中的紫外線卻會不斷製造新的臭氧份子,使大氣層中維持一定濃度的臭氧,在地面以上約20至30公里之間形成『臭氧層』。

    O + O2 → O3﹙臭氧﹚

     

    figure1
    圖1. 臭氧在大氣中擋住了紫外線照射,保護地球生態環境
    [此圖由馮國柱先生繪製和提供]


     回到目錄 回到目錄

  2. 臭氧層如何保護我們?我們如何保護臭氧層?

    紫外線能夠破壞人類皮膚組織,從而增加患上皮膚癌的機會。紫外線亦會影響免疫系統及對眼睛造成傷害,嚴重的會引致白內瞕,甚至失明。而臭氧層宛如是我們的一塊擋箭牌﹙見圖1﹚,擋住了超過九成的紫外線照射,保護在地面生活的人類及動物。

    研究指出臭氧的最大敵人是含氯氟烴﹙CFCs或氟氯化碳﹚的氣體。一個CFCs的氯原子就可以毀滅十萬個臭氧分子,使大氣中的臭氧含量減少,令南北兩極出現所謂『臭氧洞』。較多的紫外線便會直接照射地面,傷害地球生態。因此,我們要盡量減少使用含有CFCs的噴霧劑、製冷劑、空調系統及其他相關產品;再者,若使用該類產品時,必須保持定期檢查及適當維修,避免CFCs釋出。

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  3. 臭氧對人體有害,還是有益?

    臭氧是一種無色的氣體,但當濃度升高時會呈現出淡淡藍色,並帶有少許鮮草味。人吸入後初時會有一種清新的感覺,但吸多了便感到有點兒不舒服,甚至有刺喉的感覺。雖然臭氧有淨化、殺菌、消毒、除臭、及漂白等作用,但人體若接觸或吸入過量的臭氧會對眼睛及呼吸道等器官做成侵害,嚴重會傷害肺組織引致肺出血而死亡。大城市裏經常會受到工業和汽車廢氣的污染,在陽光下透過光化作用令低層空氣中產生大量高濃度的臭氧,所以被稱為「有害的」臭氧。相反在大氣高層的臭氧,擋住了破壞地球生態的太陽紫外線輻射。而每逢雷雨過後,空氣中浮現出一層薄薄的臭氧,使人有雨後清新的感覺,所以亦被稱為「有益的」臭氧。


     回到目錄 回到目錄

  4. 如何量度高空臭氧含量?

    香港天文台自1993年開始量度本港上空的臭氧含量。現時每星期會施放一個附帶有測量臭氧濃度儀器的高空氣象氣球﹙見圖2﹚。臭氧測量儀盛載有量度臭氧的溶液﹙見圖3﹚,儀器內的氣泵會將空氣抽入溶液,從而量度臭氧含量。高空氣象氣球一般會上升至約30公里以上,期間不斷量度大氣中臭氧含量。所得的數據會傳送至世界臭氧資料中心﹙World Ozone Data Centre﹚,作為全球臭氧監察及研究之用。

    figure2
    圖2. 施放量度臭氧的高空氣象氣球

    figure2
    圖3. 工作人員正準備量度臭氧的溶液


     回到目錄 回到目錄

  5. 現時本港上空的臭氧情況如何?

    圖4顯示2008年7月份量度本港上空臭氧量﹙綠色曲線﹚的高空探測。從圖中可看見在 100 百帕斯卡的高度﹙距離地面約 16 公里高﹚時大氣中的臭氧量便開始顯著增多,臭氧含量最高峰的位置介乎 20 至 30 公里的高度﹙圖中兩條白線之間﹚,即所謂臭氧層。

    儘管現時臭氧層為我們抵擋紫外線的傷害,但並不代表在未來的日子不會改變。因此,我們都應當愛護環境,保育大自然,保護大家及下一代的健康。


    figure2
    圖4. 2008年7月份量度本港上空臭氧量 ﹙綠色曲線﹚ 的高空探測。
    臭氧含量最高的高度介乎20至30公里即兩條白線之間,
    附註:溫度﹙紅色曲線﹚,露點﹙深藍曲線﹚及相對濕度﹙淺藍曲線


     回到目錄 回到目錄

   參考:

  1. 環境保護署網頁
  2. 香港天文台網頁
  3. www.vaisala.com
  4. We Are the Weather Makers, by Tim Flannery

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>