Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Why is the region outside the primary rainbow much darker than that inside the primary rainbow?

Written by : SIU Kai-chee (summer intern) and HUNG Fan-yiu

Let's first look at Figure 1, which shows sun rays entering a water drop and going through refraction and reflection. The ray (ray no. 1) passing through the centre goes directly backward on reflection, i.e. a change in direction of 180 degrees. For ray no. 2, this angle becomes smaller, following the rules of refraction and reflection. For the next (ray no. 3) the angle continues to decrease, so on and so forth. This trend does not continue for long, however. It is found that after a certain ray (ray no. N), the angle starts to increase instead, after going through a minimum angle of 138 degrees.

Figure 1
Figure 1

 

The figure also tells us that the outgoing rays tend to be more concentrated near ray no. N, making that region brightest. In fact, the angle of 138 degrees is the primary rainbow angle.

Now a rainbow is formed from lights coming out of many water drops. In fact, each of the colours in the rainbow comes to the eye from a different set of water drops. Figure 2 makes it easier to visualize. Rays A and B on coming out of the water drop turn through an angle less than 138 degrees, and thus do not reach the eye. They either pass over our heads or to our right or left. On the other hand, such rays as C and D turn through an angle near 138 degrees, and become part of the primary rainbow. This explains the darker region above the primary rainbow.

Figure 2
Figure 2

 

Below the primary rainbow and further down, e.g. ray Y, the angle is larger than 138 degrees, and light reaching our eyes is mostly reflected light from the water drop's front surface. This region, being made up of all such rays, is thus brighter.

[Reference: "Atmospheric Phenomena", Readings from Scientific American, W.H. Freeman and Co., 1980.]

Last revision date: <19 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

為什麼主虹之外面總是較裏面暗?

撰文:蕭啟熾(暑期實習生)、孔繁耀

先看看圖一,太陽光線進入水滴後經過折射和反射。光線1穿過中心後直接向後反射,即轉向180°。光線2的轉向角度較小、光線3的角度更小,如此類推。但這個轉向角度減小情況不會維持長久。直至某一光線(光線N),角度會反向開始增加。

圖一
圖一

 

圖一亦說明光線傾向集中在光線N附近射出,令該處最為光亮。事實上,138°是主彩虹形成的角度。

然而,彩虹卻是從眾多水滴走出來的光集合而成,每一種進入眼睛的顏色都從不同的水滴而來。圖二的解釋讓我們更容易明白。光線A和B從水滴中射出來的角度小於138°,故此不進入眼睛,而在我們頭上或左右側掠過。另一方面,光線C和D大約從138°射出,成為彩虹的一部分。這便解釋到為何主虹外面較暗。

圖二
圖二

 

在主虹以內,如光線Y,角度大於138°,到達眼睛的大部份是水滴表面反射的光。這處集合從各方射來的光線,故此亦較光亮。

【參考: "Atmospheric Phenomena",Readings from Scientific American,W.H. Freeman and Co.,1980】

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>