Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

  1. Images offered by a citizen in connection with his enquiry of a special atmospheric optical phenomenon.
  2. What special features are there in the photos?
  3. What is "sun dog"? Why is the phenomenon shown in the photos "sun dog"?
  4. Is it possible for the "sun dog" to appear only on one side of the sun?
  5. Why does a "sun dog" appear reddish on the side closer to the sun with an extended whitish tail in slightly blue colour on the other side away from the sun?
  6. Why do sun dogs appear in a position of about 22 degrees to both sides of the sun?
  7. Why is the side of the sun dog farther away from the sun not seen to be reddish?
    Written by: CHIU Hung-yu    September 2009



  1. Images offered by a citizen in connection with his enquiry of a special atmospheric optical phenomenon.

    On 2 July 2009, before sunset in Tolo Harbour, Mr. CHAN Man-chun Harold took some photos (Fig.1 and Fig.2) towards the west.  Intrigued by the interesting atmospheric optical phenomenon, he wrote to the Observatory inquiring about the type of atmospheric optical phenomenon. After some analyses, I was able to provide Mr. Chan with my explanation. Mr. Chan was happy with my elucidation and offered these images to the Observatory for the benefit of the readers of the Observatory's e-Bulletin on Educational Resources. It gives me an opportunity to explain the related atmospheric optical phenomenon in detail, together with supplementary illustrative diagrams.  Mr. Chan's contribution is gratefully acknowledged.

    figure 1
    Fig. 1  (Photo: Courtesy of Mr. CHAN Man-chun, Harold)

     content Back to content

  2. What special features are there in the photos?

    The photos (Fig.1 and Fig.2) were taken in Tolo Harbour with the camera facing the west before sunset in the evening of 2 July 2009. The photos indicate the sun and a colourful light source at approximately the same elevation. There was a bright colour spot appearing on the right of the sun.  The side of the bright spot nearer to the sun is reddish whereas the other side of the bright spot (farther away from the sun) is whitish with a slightly blue colour.

    figure 2
    Fig. 2  Zoomed-in "sun dog" image (Photo: Courtesy of Mr. CHAN Man-chun, Harold)

     content Back to content

  3. What is "sun dog"? Why is the phenomenon shown in the photos "sun dog"?

    Sun dog is produced by refraction of sun's light rays through hexagonal ice crystals of cirrus clouds when the sun is at low elevation angle close to the horizon during sunrise or sunset.  The phenomenon can be seen when there is no lower clouds blocking the view. Sun dogs are luminous or bright spots appearing at approximately 22 degrees to the right and left of the sun at the same altitude in the sky. Its occurrence depends on the density, thickness and altitude of the cirrus clouds as well as the observer's location. A sun dog has a short whitish horizontal luminous band or tail extending outward. Its colour appears more or less reddish on the side towards the sun and bluish on the other side away from the sun.

    figure 3
    Fig. 3

    figure 4
    Fig. 4: Surface weather observations at 5pm (09UTC) on 2 July 2009 revealed that high clouds (Cirrus Spissatus - dense cirrus patches) appeared over Hong Kong and neighbouring areas.

    Before the sunset at dusk on 2 July 2009, Hong Kong was covered by high clouds. As the clouds were thin, sunlight could still penetrate the clouds. There was no significant radar echo (Fig. 3) and thus no rain around the neighbouring areas. The surface weather observations (Fig. 4) and satellite picture (Fig. 6) showed that high clouds existed generally in local and neighbouring areas.


    figure 5
    Fig. 5.   Tephigram of 2 July 2009, 8pm (12UTC).

    The upper-air sounding (Fig. 5) at 8pm on July 2 of 2009 indicated that the atmosphere was relative dry below 350hPa (about 8600m) level. On the other hand, the atmosphere was relatively moist with temperature below -20oC above 350hPa. Hence, clouds above this level were rich of ice crystals. Therefore, the colourful bright spot was probably caused by the refraction of sunlight through the randomly oriented ice crystals, thus producing the phenomenon of "sun dog".

    According to Mr. Chan's observation, the bright spot appeared in a position of about 22 degrees to the right of the sun. Hence, the bright spot was the false image of the sun.


     content Back to content

  4. Is it possible for the "sun dog" to appear only on one side of the sun?

    "Sun dogs" often appear in symmetrical positions of about 22 degrees on both sides of the sun. However, Mr. Chan could not see the same phenomenon on the left side of the sun. Although Mr. Chan had not mentioned whether there were buildings blocking his view on the left side of the sun, a single "sun dog" appearing on only one side of the sun is also possible.

    The satellite picture (Fig. 6) shows the high clouds in the vicinity of Hong Kong. The distribution of clouds in the north and south of the coast is not well symmetrical. The amount, symmetry and uniformity of the high cloud distribution would have effects on the "sun dog" phenomenon causing the image indistinct or indiscernible. For example, a fragmented single "sun dog" could appear in cirrus clouds originated from the remaining condensation trails produced by successive jet aircrafts flying along nearby routes across the sky at very high altitude during sunset. Alternatively, patches of lower clouds could also hide the "sun dog" on one side of the sun from the observer's view. As such, intact "sun dogs" might not appear clearly and simultaneously on both sides of the sun in some occasions.


    figure 6
    Fig. 6.   Japan Meteorological Agency MTSAT-1R Infra-red Image at 5:30pm (0930UTC) on 2 July 2009

     content Back to content

  5. Why does a "sun dog" appear reddish on the side closer to the sun with an extended whitish tail in slightly blue colour on the other side away from the sun?

    The whitish tail is a short horizontal extension of the bright light from sun dog. It is because the wavelength of reddish light and bluish light is slightly different. After the sun light is refracted through the randomly oriented ice crystals, the light rays of different colours emerging with slightly different deviation angle. These light rays after refraction will overlap with their light paths displaced slightly producing the optical phenomenon (Fig. 7).


    figure 7
    Fig. 7  A simplified schematic diagram showing the distributions of colours. The distributions of reddish light A and bluish light B overlap producing the distribution of light A+B.

    Also, the white light will disperse into different colors after passing through the hexagonal ice crystals. Light of different colors coming out through the same ice crystal will be close and overlap in between, becoming whitish (Fig.8).


    figure 8
    Fig. 8  The wider the incident white light beam, the broader is the width AB. Then, the light rays of different colours exiting the ice crystal overlap more. (In the diagram, the overlapping of light exiting the ice crystal is exaggerated for ease of explanation.)

    figure 9
    Fig. 9  Birefringence (diagrammatic illustration)

    Furthermore, the colour produced in sun dogs is more complicated than that of rainbow because ice crystal is birefringent for light in nature. When a light ray passes through a piece of birefringent transparent material, the light ray will be divided into two separate components propagating in two different directions (Fig. 9). Thus, an object being viewed through a birefringent material would have two separate images nearby with partial overlapping (Fig. 10). If the white light passing through a birefringent material has two spectra, the two spectra will partially overlap and combine to form to an extraordinary spectrum (Fig. 11).


    figure 10a Fig. 10 (a.)
    One image
    is produced
    by ordinary refraction
    figure 10b Fig. 10 (b.)
    Two partially overlapping images
    are produced
    by birefringence
    Fig. 10

    figure 11
    Fig. 11  Spectrum A and spectrum B partially overlap to produce spectrum "A+B"
    (Spectra in the diagram are exaggerated for ease of explanation.)

     content Back to content

  6. Why do sun dogs appear in a position of about 22 degrees to both sides of the sun?

    It is because the formation of sun dog requires sunlight to be refracted by horizontal oriented hexagonal ice crystals (Fig.12). The physical property (refractive index) of hexagonal ice crystals limits the sunlight passing through it to deviate at not less than an "angle of minimum deviation" of about 22 degrees (Fig.13). The light around 22 degrees is mostly converged and most intense to form the bright spot.


    figure 12
    Fig. 12  Sunlight refracted by horizontal oriented hexagonal ice crystals

    figure 13
    Fig. 13  Angle of minimum deviation ~22o

     content Back to content

  7. Why is the side of the sun dog farther away from the sun not seen to be reddish?

    The white light will disperse into different colors after passing through the hexagonal ice crystals. As the wavelength of red light is longer than the blue light, the red light deviates less than the blue after passing through a hexagonal ice crystal (Fig.12 and Fig.14).  



    figure 14
    Fig. 14

    The visual angle controls our perception of observing the relative distance or positions of different objects. We can see the light only when the light propagates at the correct angle to enter our eyes. As light comes from numerous ice crystals, the net effect is that the eye sees the reddish colour on the inner side of the right sun dog (as shown in Fig.14).


    Note: The atmospheric optical phenomenon sun dog, or sundog, is also called parhelion or mock sun.

     content Back to content

   References:

  1. "Atmospheric Halos", David K. Lynch, Scientific American, April, 1978.
  2. "Spacious Skies", Richard Scorer & Arjen Verkaik, David & Charles Publishers, 1989.
  3. "Optical properties of contrail-induced cirrus: discussion of unusual halo phenomena", by Ralf Sussmann, Applied Optics, Vol. 36, No.18, 20 June 1997.
  4. "Sun Dogs", John K.W. Chan, HKO e-Bulletin on Educational Resources, Issue No.19, September 2008.
  5. "Experiments with quartz hexagon - Double parhelia", 4 April 1999, Bob Fosbury's website.
  6. "Laboratory experiments in atmospheric optics", Michael Vollmer and Robert Tammer, Applied Optics, Vol. 37, No. 9, pp. 1557-1568, 20 March 1998.


Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

  1. 市民詢問大氣光學現象後提供有關的照片影像。
  2. 照片影像有什麼特徵?
  3. 何謂為「幻日」?為什麼照片中的現象是「幻日」?
  4. 「幻日」可以只出現在太陽的一邊嗎?
  5. 為什麼「幻日」接近太陽的一側展現偏紅,遠離太陽的外側尾部展現偏白及有小許偏藍?
  6. 為什麼「幻日」在太陽左右兩邊對稱大約22度方位出現?
  7. 為何看不到「幻日」遠離太陽的外側展現偏紅?
    撰文:趙孔儒    2009年9月



  1. 市民詢問大氣光學現象後提供有關的照片影像

    陳先生﹙Mr. CHAN Man-chun, Harold﹚在2009年7月2日日落時於吐露港向西拍攝了一些與大氣光學現象有關的照片﹙圖1及圖2﹚,詢問天文台那是什麼現象。同事把他的詢問電郵和照片轉交給我,我分析後作出解答。陳先生滿意解答,並很樂意將這些照片影像提供給天文台採用,讓我可以把這些精彩照片影像及有關的大氣光學現象,附加圖解詳細地介紹給我們「香港天文台教育資源電子通訊」的讀者,謹此致謝。

    圖1
    圖1︰(圖片由陳先生Mr. CHAN Man-chun, Harold拍攝和提供)

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  2. 照片影像有什麼特徵?

    照片﹙圖1及圖2﹚是在2009年7月2日日落時於吐露港向西拍攝的。照片表明太陽和有色彩的光源近乎在同一水平高度,彩斑出現在太陽右方,接近太陽的一側展現偏紅,遠離太陽的外側展現偏白及有小許偏藍。

    圖2
    圖2︰「幻日」影像放大﹙圖片由陳先生 Mr. CHAN Man-chun, Harold 拍攝和提供﹚

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  3. 何謂為「幻日」?為什麼照片中的現象是「幻日」?

    太陽在日出或日落期間,仰角低因而接近地平線,幻日是因為太陽的光線透過卷雲的六角形冰晶經折射後產生的,在沒有較低雲塊阻礙視野的情況下可以看到。幻日是在太陽左右兩邊大約22度出現在天空的光斑或亮點,與太陽的高度相同。它的出現取決於卷雲的密度,厚度和高度,及觀察者的位置。幻日有一列或一條水平向外伸延帶白色的短光斑或尾巴。幻日在靠近太陽的一端和遠離太陽的一端所觀察到的顏色分別或多或少略帶紅色和略帶藍色。


    圖3
    圖3

    圖4
    圖4︰2009年7月2日下午5時﹙09UTC﹚地面天氣觀察顯示本地和鄰近地區普遍有高雲﹙密卷雲 — 緻密卷雲雲塊dense cirrus patches﹚

    在2009年7月2日黃昏日落前,本地有很多高雲,由於高雲雲層較薄,陽光仍可穿透。雷達影像清晰顯示鄰近地區無雨﹙圖3﹚,地面天氣觀察﹙圖4﹚及衛星圖像﹙圖6﹚顯示本地和鄰近地區普遍有高雲。


    圖5
    圖5︰2009年7月2日傍晚8時﹙12UTC﹚的溫熵圖

    根據2009年7月2 日傍晚8時的探空資料所顯示﹙圖5﹚,大氣在350hPa﹙大約8600m﹚以下較為乾燥,大氣在350hPa以上較為潮濕,溫度在負20oC 以下,雲層在這個高度以上充滿冰晶。因此,有色彩的光源很可能是陽光透過方向隨機的冰晶折射引起所產生的「幻日」現象。

    根據陳先生的觀察,它出現在太陽右邊大約 22 度的位置,因此那就是太陽的虛假影像 -「幻日」。


     回到目錄 回到目錄

  4. 「幻日」可以只出現在太陽的一邊嗎?

    「幻日」一般是在太陽左右兩邊對稱大約22度方位出現,但陳先生不能在左邊見到相同的現象。雖然陳先生沒有說明太陽左邊是否有建築物阻擋,但是單一個「幻日」只在太陽的一邊出現仍然是有可能的。

    衛星圖像﹙圖6﹚顯示在香港附近海岸的高雲,南北分佈不很對稱,由於高雲的多少濃密並不均勻或不勻稱,導致另一邊的「幻日」不明顯或不完整是有可能的。例如日落時,前後相繼橫越高空飛翔的噴射飛機,相繼沿著相近且緊貼的航路,噴出多條接近的凝結尾跡,殘留下來的凝結尾跡會成為卷雲,這樣一個不完整且單一的「幻日」便可以出現在這些卷雲上。另一邊的「幻日」也可以被少量較低的雲塊遮蓋。因此有時在一些特殊情況的時刻裡,完整的「幻日」不一定同時清楚地出現在太陽左右兩邊。


    圖6
    圖6︰2009年7月2日下午5時30分﹙0930UTC﹚日本氣象廳MTSAT-1R 紅外光圖像

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  5. 為什麼「幻日」接近太陽的一側展現偏紅,遠離太陽的外側尾部展現偏白及有小許偏藍?

    帶白色的尾部是來自「幻日」亮光的一個短小水平方向伸延部分。這是由於接近紅色和接近藍色的光線波長有小許不同,陽光經透過方向隨機的冰晶折射後,接近紅色和接近藍色的光分佈前後位置稍有偏離後再重疊合成時發生的光學現象﹙圖7﹚。


    圖7
    圖7︰顯示顏色分佈的簡化示意圖。接近紅色﹙A﹚和接近藍色﹙B﹚的光分佈重疊合成﹙A+B﹚的光分佈。

    此外,白光在透過六角形冰晶之後,出現色散,分成不同的顏色向前散開。經過同一冰晶出來的不同顏色光線中間會有部份重疊變成偏白色的光﹙圖8﹚。

    圖8
    圖8︰入射白光光束越闊,AB距離越遠,從冰晶出來不同顏色的光線重疊程度越大。﹙圖中光線從冰晶出來的中間部分光線重疊程度被誇大以便於說明﹚

    圖9
    圖9︰雙折射 ﹙概略圖解﹚

    還有,由於冰晶是「雙折射結晶體」,對光線有雙折射特性,「幻日」色彩的形成比彩虹是較為複雜的。當一束光線穿過一塊雙折射透明物質時,那束光線將分成在兩個不同方向傳播的兩束光線﹙圖9﹚。因此,通過雙折射物質觀看物體時,會看見兩個分開的影像及在附近部份重疊﹙圖10﹚,出現重影。若白光通過雙折射物質產生出兩個光譜,也會部份重疊合成為一個異常的光譜﹙圖11﹚。


    圖10a 圖10 (a.)
    普通的折射
    產生
    一個影像
    圖10b 圖10 (b.)
    雙折射
    產生
    兩個部份重疊的影像
    圖10


    圖11
    圖11︰《光譜A》與《光譜B》部份重疊產生《光譜A+B》
    ﹙圖中光譜被誇大以便於說明﹚

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  6. 為什麼「幻日」在太陽左右兩邊對稱大約22度方位出現?

    這是由於「幻日」的形成需要陽光被水平面向的六角形冰晶折射﹙圖12﹚,而六角形冰晶的物理性質﹙折射率﹚導致了陽光通過六角形冰晶後的轉向限制在一個不少於大約22度的「最小偏向角」﹙圖13﹚,且光在22度附近聚集和出現,即是最集中及最強,因而形成光斑或亮點。


    圖12
    圖12︰陽光被水平面向的六角形冰晶折射

    圖13
    圖13︰最小偏向角 ~22o

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  7. 為何看不到「幻日」遠離太陽的外側展現偏紅?

    白光在透過六角形冰晶之後,出現色散,分成不同的顏色向前散開。因為紅光的波長比藍光長,在透過六角形冰晶之後,紅光轉向偏離來源白光光線比藍光少﹙圖12和圖14﹚。


    圖14
    圖14

    視角支配我們觀察不同物體相對距離或位置的感覺。由於只有當光在傳播時以恰當的角度進入我們的眼睛,我們才可以看見光。因此,當光來自許多冰晶時,最終的效果是眼睛看見帶紅色的光出現在右邊的「幻日」內側上﹙如圖14所示﹚。


     回到目錄 回到目錄

       參考:

    1. "Atmospheric Halos", David K. Lynch, Scientific American, April, 1978.
    2. "Spacious Skies", Richard Scorer & Arjen Verkaik, David & Charles Publishers, 1989.
    3. "Optical properties of contrail-induced cirrus: discussion of unusual halo phenomena", by Ralf Sussmann, Applied Optics, Vol. 36, No.18, 20 June 1997.
    4. 幻日」,陳啟榮,香港天文台教育資源電子通訊,第十九期,2008年9月。
    5. "Experiments with quartz hexagon - Double parhelia", 4 April 1999, Bob Fosbury's website.
    6. "Laboratory experiments in atmospheric optics", Michael Vollmer and Robert Tammer, Applied Optics, Vol. 37, No. 9, pp. 1557-1568, 20 March 1998.

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>